SETC High School Theatre Festival

Each year, high schools who have won state competitions perform at SETC for the regional title. The two winning productions from each of the 10 SETC member states* compete in the High School Theatre Festival at SETC’s annual convention. Check with your state organization to learn how to compete at the state level.

* The 10 state region includes Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia.

2017 High School Theatre Festival

The 2017 High School Theatre Festival was held March 2-3, 2017, at the Lexington Opera House during the 68th annual SETC Convention in Lexington, KY. Thank you to all the amazing high school groups who performed!

Congratulations to our winners!

  • Best Production: The Children’s Hour – Boone High School, FL
  • Runner-up Production: That Was Then – Harrisonburg High School, VA
  • Best Actress: Sofia Deler, The Children’s Hour – Boone High School, FL
  • Best Actor: Gage Thomas, Charlie and Algernon – Gulf Breeze High School, FL

Thank you to all participants:

  • Children of Eden: Act II – Opelika High School, AL
  • The Jungle Book – James Clemens High School, AL
  • Charlie and Algernon – Gulf Breeze High School, FL
  • The Children’s Hour – Boone High School, FL
  • Anatomy of Gray – Greater Atlanta Christian School, GA
  • Starmites – Milton High School, GA
  • The Cagebirds – Bryan Station High School, KY
  • Still Waters Run Deep – Corbin High School, KY
  • Scenes from Argonautika – Ocean Springs High School, MS
  • Failure: A Love Story – Oak Grove High School, MS
  • That’s Not How I Remembered It – Lake Norman Charter School, NC
  • Boal – Central Academy of Technology and Arts, NC
  • Bocon – Montessori School of Anderson, SC
  • The Taste of Sunrise – Woodmont High School, SC
  • Wiley and the Hairy Man – McGavock High School, TN
  • Mother Hicks – Nashville School of the Arts, TN
  • That Was Then – Harrisonburg High School, VA
  • The Very Grey Matter of Edward Blank – Rock Ridge High School, VA
  • Brothers Grimm Spectaculathon – Musselman High School, WV
  • Emotional Baggage – Greenbrier East High School, WV

2017 Adjudicators

Laurie Durrett

Laurie Durrett has been involved with Theatre Arts for over 40 years. She’s worked as a professional actor and has been a member of AEA, SAG/AFTRA for over 30 years. Laurie holds an M.A. in Theatre Education and Human Development from New York University and a B.S. from Lamar University in Communications RTF and Theatre. She taught Theatre Arts for six years on the high school level and participated in University Interscholastic League in Texas on the state and regional level. Also, she and her students were chosen to participate in the International Thespian Competition as a performing school.

Sharron Jenkins

Sharron Jenkins, now retired, worked in three school districts in Southeast Texas teaching all levels of Spanish, World History, U.S. History and Theatre during her teaching career. She is a member of the Texas Educational Theatre Association and the Texas Theatre Adjudicators and Officials organization. She also served as an adjudicator for the Educational Theatre Association and volunteered as an adult advisory board member for Texas Thespians. She’s directed children’s plays, drama, comedy, musicals, and one-act plays.

Michael Peitz

Michael Peitz retired as the Executive Director of the Educational Theatre Association. Before that he taught speech, English and theatre in Iowa, where his students performed at the Iowa and the International Thespian festivals. He has been a guest adjudicator across the country. The Iowa Communication Association and the University of Northern Iowa Theatre Department named him an Outstanding Alumnus. Michael has been inducted into the Hall of Fame by Arkansas, Iowa and Mississippi Thespians, the Iowa High School Speech Association, the Ohio Educational Theatre Association and the national Educational Theatre Association.

For more information, please contact:

Claire Wisniewski
SETC Educational Services Manager
SETC Central Office