The Southeastern Theatre Conference is proud to award scholarships for individuals continuing their study in Theatre. SETC’s Endowment Fund supports each award. See a full list of our awards and scholarships below.


Robert Porterfield Award

$2,000 to a student entering or attending a regionally accredited graduate school to study theatre.Deadline: September 15, 2016

Leighton M. Ballew Directing Award

$3,000 to a student to study directing at a regionally accredited graduate school.
Deadline: September 15, 2016

Marian A. Smith Costume Award

$1,500 to a student pursuing a graduate degree in costume design and/or technology at a regionally accredited program. Deadline: January 21, 2017

Denise Halbach Award

$2,000 to a student to study acting or musical theatre at a regionally accredited graduate program. Deadline: April 30, 2017

Secondary School Scholarship

$1,000 to a high school student on entering a regionally accredited college or university in the SETC region to major in theatre. Deadline: January 15, 2017

William E. Wilson Award

$5,000 to a secondary school educator pursuing a theatre or speech and theatre degree at a regionally accredited grad program. Deadline: January 15, 2017

Polly Holliday Award
$1,000 to a student entering a regionally accredited undergraduate school to study theatre.
Deadline: January 28, 2017

Tom Behm Award

$1,000 to a person working in the field of Theatre for Youth for the purposes of professional development.Deadline: January 15, 2017


Design Competition Awards

Internationally acclaimed designers critique graduate and undergraduate entries in Scenic Design, Costume Design, Lighting Design, Costume Crafts and Technology, Properties Design & Construction and Sound Design. Cash awards are given for 1st, 2nd and 3rd Places.

Distinguished Career Award

The Distinguished Career Award is the highest award bestowed by SETC and is established to honor one individual or artistic team each year who has a distinguished career in the theatre. The recipient is requested to speak at the annual convention as a keynote address, and to accept the award during the Annual Banquet and Awards Ceremony. Administration of this award is assigned to the Executive Committee. However, SETC members are invited to make suggestion to the Executive Committee and/or the SETC Central Office as names for consideration.

Getchell New Play Award

The SETC New Play Project is dedicated to the discovery, development and publicizing of worthy new plays and playwrights. The Charles M. Getchell Award offers $1,000 and a Staged Play Reading at the Annual Convention. The winner must be present. Submission Period: Between March 1 and June 1 annually.

Innovative Playwriting Instruction Award

This award was established to honor one high school teacher each year for innovation in teaching playwriting. Follow the link above for more details and to nominate a teacher (including yourself). Administration of this award is assigned to the Innovative Playwriting Instruction Award Committee.

John Spiegel Theatrical Artist Award

The John Spiegel Theatrical Artist Award is presented annually to a student pursuing a degree or certificate in one of the following areas: lighting design, properties design, scenic design, sound design, or technical direction. Deadline to Apply: December 15

Keynote Emerging Artists of Promise (KEAP) Awards

A grant presented annually to four high school students who show promise in theatre and would benefit from a grant to attend the convention. KEAP recipients are recognized for their dedication to theatre and academic excellence at keynote addresses, the state luncheon and the SETC Awards Banquet.

Ready to Publish Award

Playwrights submit unpublished, original scripts for the opportunity to “pitch” their play/musical to Stage Rights and the SETC Playwriting Committee. One winner earns publication in the Stage Rights catalog of plays and musicals in addition to other opportunities from Stage Rights and SETC.

Sara Spencer Child Drama Award

Recognizes an individual or organization for distinct achievement in such areas of child drama as: playwriting, performance, audience development, curriculum development, funding, scholarship, community programs, research, television programming, creative drama or other enrichment programs within the SETC Region.

Suzanne M. Davis Memorial Award

The Suzanne M. Davis Memorial Award was established to honor one SETC member each year for distinguished service to SETC over a number of years and is presented during the SETC Annual Convention awards banquet. Administration of this award is assigned to the Nominations Committee, with the final choice made by vote of the Board of Directors.

Young Scholar’s Award

SETC’s History/Theory/Criticism/Literature Committee invites submissions from graduate students and undergraduate students relating to the committee’s interest areas of history, theory, criticism, and literature. One graduate and one undergraduate paper will be chosen to win a cash prize and to present their winning papers at the Annual Convention.

How can you help fund and support these awards and scholarships?

  • Become a Life Member of the country’s largest theatre organization (your $1,320 goes directly to support the Endowment Fund).
  • Contribute when you register for the Annual Convention. Call or email the SETC central office staff at 336-272-3645 or to let us help you make your contribution.
  • Download the SETC Endowment Contribution Form and return it, along with your contribution to:

SETC Central Office
1175 Revolution Mill Drive, Studio 14
Greensboro, NC 27405