Secondary School Theatre Festival

Each year, high schools who have won state competitions perform at SETC for the regional title. The two winning productions from each of the 10 SETC member states* compete in the Secondary School Theatre Festival at the annual SETC Convention. Check with your state organization to learn how to compete at the state level.  * The 10 state region includes Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia.

2020 Secondary School Theatre Festival

Performance Venue: The Kentucky Center’s Bomhard Theatre
Performance Dates: Feb. 27-28, 2020
Awards Ceremonies: Feb. 29, 2020

The 2020 Secondary School Theatre Festival will take place as part of the 71st annual SETC Convention in Louisville, KY. If your high school theatre group is interested in participating, check with your state organization to learn how to get started at the state level. And break a leg!

Festival performances will be open to all registered attendees of the 2020 SETC Convention. Friends, family members and supporters not registered for SETC will be able to purchase block tickets for the Secondary School Theatre Festival at $20 each. Tickets will be sold at SETC’s Registration/Check-In Desk at the Kentucky International Convention Center (a few blocks from the performance venue) from Noon to 8 p.m. on Wednesday and from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Thursday and Friday.


For more information, please contact:

Cadie Burks

SETC Educational Services Manager
SETC Central Office
Call: 336-272-3645
Email Cadie

Recap: 2019 Secondary School Theatre Festival

The 2019 Secondary School Theatre Festival was held Feb. 28 – March 1, 2019, at the Knoxville Civic Auditorium during the 70th annual SETC Convention in Knoxville, TN.

Congratulations to 2019’s winners!

  • Best Production: The Terrible Infants – Perry High School, GA
  • Runner-Up Production: Crane Wife – Charlotte Country Day School, NC
  • Best Actress: Helena Schatzki and Jenna Reed, Taste of Sunrise – SCAPA/Lafayette High School, KY
  • Best Actor: Kieshaun Butts and Daniel Baesler, Taste of Sunrise – SCAPA/Lafayette High School, KY
  • Alabama:  Bob Jones High School – The Bell Witch
  • Alabama:  Huntsville High School – LIZZIE
  • Florida:  Trinity Prep School – The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
  • Florida:  Windermere High School – And Then Came Tango
  • Georgia:  Perry High School – The Terrible Infants
  • Kentucky:  SCAPA/Lafayette High School – Taste of Sunrise
  • Kentucky:  Tates Creek High School – Trojan Women
  • Mississippi:  Oak Grove High School – The Axeman’s Requiem
  • Mississippi:  Ocean Springs High School – Scenes from The White Snake
  • North Carolina:  Charlotte Country Day School – The Crane Wife
  • North Carolina:  Sanderson High School – 26 Pebbles
  • South Carolina:  Blythewood High School – Elephant’s Graveyard
  • South Carolina:  Sumter High School – Chronicle Simpkins Will Cut You
  • Tennessee:  Nolensville High School – The Crane Wife
  • Tennessee:  Stewarts Creek High School – The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
  • Virginia:  Jamestown High School – The Happening
  • Virginia:  Lafayette High School – Night Sky
  • West Virginia:  Buckhannon-Upshur High School – I Never Saw Another Butterfly
  • West Virginia:  Musselman High School – Hush

2019 Adjudicators

Diane Carr

Dr. Diane Carr is the Director of Chapter Relations and Community Engagement for the Educational Theatre Association (EdTA) where she is responsible for leading and supporting EdTA’s national volunteer base including all state organizations. She earned her BA and MEd from Northern Kentucky University, an MA from University of Cincinnati and an MBA from Xavier University. In her spare time, she serves as costumer for several community theatre organizations.

Moses Goldberg

Moses Goldberg retired after 25 years as Producing Director of Stage One: The Louisville Children’s Theatre. He now works as a freelance director, teacher and playwright. He has directed professionally at theatres from Washington to Florida, including — in 1988 — one of the first U.S./Soviet exchanges at Moscow’s famed Taganka Theatre. Sixteen of his plays for young audiences have been published, as well as his most recent book “TYA: Essays on Theatre for Young Audiences.” He has taught at Florida State University and Southwest Texas State University and as an adjunct faculty member elsewhere.

Herb Parker

Herb Parker is Associate Professor in the Department of Theatre and Dance with East Tennessee State University. He is the author of “A Monologue is an Outrageous Situation! How to Survive the 60-Second Audition,” and “Acting Shakespeare is Outrageous! Playing the Bard for Beginners,” published by Routledge Focal Press. His productions of “Six Characters in Search of an Author,” “A Midsummer Night’s Dream,” and “Little Shop of Horrors” all received the KCACTF “Excellence in Directing” Meritorious Achievement Award. Professor Parker is a proud long-time member of Actors’ Equity Association.

Behind the Scenes Videos

KET, a Kentucky-based PBS educational television network, stopped by the 2017 SETC Convention in Lexington, KY, to shoot behind-the-scenes educational videos featuring the High School Theatre Festival.

Hear from the director and actors from the production of A Taste of Sunrise. The cast talks about learning American Sign Language and how working on the play has changed their perspective on life.
Andrew Branca, a high school student from Central Academy of Technology and Arts, in North Carolina talks about how he was inspired to write Boal after attending a summer theater workshop on Brazilian theater activist Augusto Boal. Cast members discuss what it was like to collaborate on the playwriting process and why they felt it was important to start a serious discussion on racism and Islamophobia.