SETC Scholarship/Awards Fund

Support Education in Theatre

Contributions to the SETC Scholarship/Awards Fund allow SETC to provide financial support to students and professionals looking to pursue educational and professional development opportunities in theatre.

The SETC Scholarship/Awards Fund supports these scholarships, awards and grants:

  • Betsey Horth Arts Administration Advancement Grant for individuals or organizations
  • Denise Halbach Scholarship for graduate study in acting or musical theatre performance
  • John Spiegel Theatrical Artist Award for students pursuing a technical theatre degree
  • Keynote Emerging Artists of Promise (KEAP) for high school students with financial need
  • Leighton M. Ballew Scholarship for graduate study in directing
  • Marian A. Smith Scholarship for graduate study in costume
  • Robert Porterfield Scholarship for graduate study in theatre
  • Steve Bayless Undergraduate Scholarship for college-bound high school theatre students
  • Tom Behm Award for professional development in the field of theatre for youth
  • William E. Wilson Scholarship for graduate study for secondary school theatre educators

For more information on any of our scholarships, visit Scholarships and Awards.

Ways to Give

1. Make a Donation

Your tax-deductible contributions are welcome! Simply visit our online donations page and enter the amount you would like to donate. You can give to our General Fund (your contribution will be applied where SETC’s need is greatest) and/or designate which specific scholarship(s) you would like to support. It’s that easy to help theatre students achieve their goals!

If you prefer to contact us directly to make your donation, please email the SETC central office staff at

2. Become a Life Member

If you would like to become a Life Member of the country’s largest theatre organization, your $1,320 lifetime membership to SETC goes directly to support the SETC Scholarship/Awards Fund. Contact our central office to become an SETC Life Member.

3. Shop AmazonSmile

Select the Southeastern Theatre Conference as the charitable organization you’d like to support, and Amazon will donate 0.5% of the price of your eligible AmazonSmile purchases to us:

4. Buy Convention Gear

Each year at the SETC Convention, we sell a variety of SETC and theatre-related goodies (t-shirts, lanyards, bags, notebooks, and more) on site in our Convention Gear booth. There’s something new every year, so come see what we have to offer. All proceeds support the SETC Scholarship/Awards Fund.

5. Help Us Expand Opportunities

In consultation with SETC, donors may allocate their gift to a specific project or fund. When aligned with the needs of our membership, SETC gratefully accepts in-kind support (goods and services) as well as sponsorships and underwriting by corporations, foundations, or other groups. Read our Charitable Gifts and Gift Acceptance Policies for a broad overview of what gifts SETC can accept and how we use the funds. Please get in touch with any ideas you or your organization may have to support our work!

Contributions to the SETC Scholarship/Awards Fund

This Fiscal Year

Thank you to all who have generously contributed recently!

* Denotes Monthly Contributor

Emily Baden
Jesse Bates
Debi Belanger
Tom Booth
Emma Brown
Janet Cohen
Katie Collins
J.K. Curry
Dominique Dawson
Chip Egan
Dan Ellison
Pat Gagliano
Nancy Gall-Clayton
Jeff Gibson
Aaron Gotlieb
Jennifer Gould
Rowen Haigh
Scott Hayes
Darlin Kalmes
Kathryn Kawecki
Kyla Kazuschyk
Colleen Kelly
Sheila Kerrigan
Jeremy Kisling
Greta Lambert
Russell Luke
Britton Lynn
Johannah Maynard Edwards
Chad McDonald *
Kris Rau McIntyre
Mike Murphy
Field Oldham
Mia Self *
Dean Slusser
Brandon Smith
John Spiegel
Alan Spitzer
Clay Thornton
Meredith Vaughn
Kate Webb
Elyzabeth Gregory Wilder
Sara York

Arts People
Atlanta Green Theatre Alliance
DeLong Rigging Solutions
Estate of Herman D. Middleton
IA Stage
Paul Green Foundation


We are 110% committed to our constituents, inclusion, and the craft of theatre.